(Re)Building does not reflect code changes

I’m new to Java and jMonkeyEngine, coming from C++, and this strange issue has started coming up. I can’t for the life of me figure out what seems to be the problem. I’ve seen it crop up doing some basic java stuff earlier, and now again with the jMonkeyEngine SDK. I’ve even tried switching to my Windows machine to see if that made any difference, but it doesn’t.

For this I’m using the ‘HelloSimpleApplication’ demo from the offline tutorial, provided with the jMonkeyEngine 3 SDK.

When I compile the project for the first time, after following all the steps in the tutorial, the program works fine. I can see the blue cube and move around it. All seems good. When I change anything about the program and rebuild, the program that’s run does not reflect the changes I made.

If I change the cube’s material to be Red instead of Blue by changing ‘mat.setColor(“Color”, ColorRGBA.Blue);’, I build the project (with or without clean) run it, and the cube is Blue.

If I deliberately introduce typos to the program, such as changing ‘app.start();’ to ‘app.stxxxxxxart();’ the building process gives me an error. When I choose ‘Run Anyway’ the program works perfectly, as it did before.

This is on a clean installation of the SDK (with IDE) that’s been updated until no new versions were available.

My sanity’s at stake here! I really hope someone can help provide some insight into this maddening issue.

It should “just work” so I understand your frustration :slight_smile:

Check if “compile on save” is activated. If not you’d need to explicitily invoke clean & build (which I see you’ve done but still).

You can try to clear the SDK (netbeans) cache as described here http://hub.jmonkeyengine.org/groups/general-2/forum/topic/nonsensical-runtime-exception

It might just be a case of temporary insanity in the SDK cache that thinks it has compiled the file even though it has been changed later.