Relative Gravity with Planets

Alright,

First off, apologies if this was already mentioned or brought forth. However, I scoured the net and still could not find a solid answer.
Me and a friend of mine are working on a space simulator game and we need relative gravity to the planets, suns, etc etc, but I have no idea where to even start. Currently we have a regular setGravity with a CharacterControl and everything (as in planet and the sun) is set with static RigidBodyControl. I’ve heard about using forces and stuff but I’m a bit of a noob in the advanced physics world.

Here’s a lil sneak preview

Thanks much

This is the right one xD

Look at this post http://hub.jmonkeyengine.org/forum/topic/bettercharactercontrol-in-the-works/
maybe it can help

If we are talking about ‘real’ space simulator with serious distances between planets, forget about using bullet physics for simulating gravity. It is designed for completely different things.

No, having gravity in first place… Why do you want to have it in space sim? You will anyway need some kind of ‘warp’ drive to move around solar system. Gravity counts only if you are flying for days/weeks - so unless you go for really really boring space sim, you should ignore system-wide gravity interactions and care only about immediate vicinity of planets. But even that is way too big to be fun in simulation.

Maybe you can tell what kind of effect you want to achieve - because simulating solar system with real gravity for sure is not that…

If you want to look into ‘realistic’ space sim, please take a look at Orbiter + some plugins. It is really, really, really boring thing…

<cite>@abies said:</cite> If we are talking about 'real' space simulator with serious distances between planets, forget about using bullet physics for simulating gravity. It is designed for completely different things.