Remarks about jME code

Hello,

Since some days, I'm beginning to study jME. This evening, I've checked-out the java code of jME (and I'm happy to see maven as one of the build tool).

So I'm a newbie (as mentionned by this forum regarding the number of my posts) however, I'm not so newbie concerning Java  :roll:

So, I've started to read the class Spatial, I've then jumped to see what a Controller is and now I'm back to Spatial.

In 5 minutes I've:

• learned what a Controller is (though nothing is detailled about Controllerin the wiki :’( but now I know I can add such documentation),
  • seen maybe some code that could be optimized or that could lead to problems

So is this forum the right place to discuss such things (from cosmetics to maybe important ones)?

Thanks,

Niggle

Just to be sure, is this wiki page, the right one to deals about Controller? (com.jme.scene package)  :?

Chapter 4: Controlling Nodes

http://www.jmonkeyengine.com/wiki/doku.php?id=controlling_nodes

This is the right place to discuss… anything really, related to the code. You can even post improved code here (or in User Code).

Well, I don't understand the contract for returning objects like ArrayList instead of say List, UnmodifiableList or even Collection

for list of controllers in the class Spatial and Node.

Moreover, as mentionned by the note, line 340, the lack of synchronization on this object may lead to strange results.

So is this done to ensure memory gain (because of lazy initialization)?  :?

Or because this method is mostly overriden, this is not a problem (though I can see the same  behaviour in Node line 394 for children)?

However, the point is that testing that the lazy initialized objects (Spatial.geometricalControllers, Node.children, Geometry.batchList) are differrent from null in a lot of place tends to obfusc the code (if not slowing the execution).

What do you think of it?

And what about the lack of synchronization?  :slight_smile: