Render to/behind Desktop?

Hi,

I’m still beginning with jME, but jsut wondered whether anyone knows if it’s possible to render the output to the Desktop? (particularly Windows).

I realise that if it is possible, it probably wouldn’t be cross-platform, but oh well! :wink:

I don’t mind if it renders on top of, or behind icons - just if (and more importantly HOW :? ) it could be done. I’ve been searching the net for similar Java/OpenGL solutions, not found anything yet.

Any help would be much appreciated! Cheers, :smiley:

Paul.

what do you mean "render to a desktop"?

Do you mean the background?

Um… Yes? :?

I mean the desktop in windows, which could be refered to as the background. Ideally what I would like to do is to be able to make a Program that renders on top of the Icons & current desktop in Windows, BUT to allow other windows/programs to still display on top if My Program.

Basically I want to make a 3D desktop application that “replaces” Windows’ current backgroung + icons with my own 3D desktop.

(Hopefully this makes some sort of sense! :wink: )

so you want to make a project like "Looking Glass" ?

Yes, that is exactly what I am trying to describe. I would just like some suggestions on how I could achieve that result using this framework (+ other Java ones I guess). Please.

I don’t know of a way to do this, we simply render to the context supplied by LWJGL which is a window context. We also can render to a pbuffer. I don’t know of a way to render to the wallpaper. The LWJGL folks might be able to answer this more than we can.

OK then…

(asking an even sillier question here!.. :// )

Dya think I can get this result by creating a “frameless” window as the output and have it’s top-left to the monitor’s top-left, then it’s bottom-right at the monitor’s far-right BUT not overlapping the task bar?

Are there Java/ways to get the current (e.g. in desktop mode) Width, and Height (with/without) task bar?

Thanks again for your help with this!