Reverse animation

Hi all,

Im still new to 3d and jme but i have a problem with animation.

What im trying to do is start a walk animation as i start to move  and stop it when i stop moving. ( this is the part that is working )

However when i stop the animation it jumps back instantly to its start posistion wich doesent look very good. So what i really want is for the animation to go in reverse from his current posistion ( so he would lower his leg in a normal way ).  I tryed to do this with setNewAnimationTimes(float beginTime, float endTime) but this doesent seem to work. The javadoc from this method in SpatialTransformer says the following:

Sets the new animation boundaries for this controller. This will start at newBeginTime and proceed in the direction of newEndTime (either forwards or backwards).  Backwards doesent seem to work however as he jumps back to his start posistion again.

this is part of the code i use:

float curTime = controller.getCurTime();

controller.setNewAnimationTimes(curTime, 0);

controller.setRepeatType(Controller.RT_CLAMP);

Any help is appreciated.

hi, this doesnt answer your question , but I just wanted to let you know md5reader2 (md5importer will have it soon)has a blend feature that does just what your speaking of. you can fadeIn/fadeout animations and fadeTo to go from one to another, If you cant use md5 though this doesnt help.

Sounds cool,  since I'm currently just exploring and playing around with JME  i don't really care about model format yet.

Guess i just have to find myself some MD5 models to play around with  :slight_smile:

mud2005 said:

hi, this doesnt answer your question , but I just wanted to let you know md5reader2 (md5importer will have it soon)has a blend feature that does just what your speaking of. you can fadeIn/fadeout animations and fadeTo to go from one to another, If you cant use md5 though this doesnt help.

already done. u can check out the newest version from svn.