Rotate camera with fixed lookAt

Hi guys,

I’m new to JME and I got stuck while trying rotate the camera around the origin and look at the same point the camera was facing before the rotation.

I got the rotation part of the problem working using:

Quaternion leftRotation = new Quaternion();

leftRotation.fromAngleAxis(-FastMath.HALF_PI/20, Vector3f.UNIT_Y);

Vector3f rotationResult = leftRotation.mult(cam.getLocation());

cam.setLocation(rotationResult);

but i can’t figure out the math to set the lookAtDirection right:

cam.lookAtDirection(???, new Vector3f(0,1,0));

Ideas would be appreciated. :slight_smile:

You can get that vector before like this:

[java]Vector3f forward = new Vector3f(0,0,1);

cam.getRotation().multLocal(forward);[/java]

thank you for the fast answer normen.

Wouldn’t that be the same as retrieving the camera.getDirection() / not setting the direction after applying the rotation?

However, my question was not how to get the current camera direction (I should have been more clear).

I would like to set the lookAt (or lookAtDirection) to the same point that I was focusing before the rotation. Imagine that I could find out that the camera was facing the point (1,2,3). After the rotation, I want to set the camera to look at the exact point, not another point with the same direction.

Why don’t you just do cam.lookAt(position) then?

My problem is I can’t find a way to determine the coordinates of that point.

Let me try to explain with an example:

I start my app looking at the point (0,0,0). After that, the user can use the mouse to look at any direction. In that direction I will have infinite points.

When I press rotate, I would like for the camera to lookAt() to a point in the previous direction (a far away point to minimize the camera “jump”).