Rotate node specific value on Z Axis based on the camera

Hello,

If this is a duplicate let me know and please keep in mind im still new to jme3 and all its api´s.

since my last question got anwered pretty fast, for now i have only one more question.

I have a ChaseCamera based on SimpleApplication#cam.

My question is: when i press w for example. I want a node/spatial to rotate away from the Camera like in most 3 person games on the Z axis.
Im pretty sure, there is a way. but i was unsuccessful until now.

Regards,
Liz3

Rotate a spatial on the z-axis (which is roll by the way since y is up):

spatial.rotate(0, 0, radiansToRotate);

If you really mean to steer… then you probably want to rotate around the y (or up) axis:
spatial.rotate(0, radiansToRotate, 0);

Edit: Or you may need to better explain what you mean.

For reference, in JME’s default reference frame:
x-axis runs through your ears
y-axis runs through your neck out the top of your head
z-axis runs out your nose

Sry, i didnt clarify something,
while in theory i mean the Y axis, as you pointed out, pratically i need to rotate on the Z axis.
That comes from the fact that by default the model has a wrong rotaion.
And my question is, how do i get the radiansToRotate value.
I am sorry for the mistake

How far do you want to rotate it?

To the Opposite direction of the direction the camera is looking.
For example the character is pointing exactly towards the camera on the Y axis(JME3 standard) = 180 degrees

Edit: Basically like in most third person games, u press w, the character turns away from the camera

Do you mean the camera snaps to true north or south or just 180 from its current location?

from its current location.
true north would not be that hard to do iirc :smiley:

https://wiki.jmonkeyengine.org/jme3/rotate.html
https://wiki.jmonkeyengine.org/jme3/intermediate/math.html
https://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/9/9a/Degree-Radian_Conversion.svg