Rover Run v0.1

I would like to share my first attempt at something using jME. Its an off-roading game centered around Land Rovers.

The home page for the game is roverrun.cinerasoftware.com and there you will find a full download and webstart link. I would love any feedback/comments you have as I’m still pretty new to this and could use any contructive criticisms any of you might have.

Looks really nice 8)

It's very hard to steer though. What about driving ahead if no key is pressed?

The cars tilt very easily. This a a general problem with ODE simulated cars. It's very hard to avoid. You can try lowering the center of gravity, make the cars very heavy and apply damping forces…

looks great, but DAMN it's hard. If this is the case, Land Rovers are DEATH TRAPS! :slight_smile:

It's great, the terrain algorithm is nice, wouldn't mind seeing that some time :wink:

I'm struggling with how to implement the steering. I need the steering as it is for maneouverability when tackling obstacles at slow speeds, but it also needs to be stable / easy to use when going faster. Will probably either add a 'rock crawling switch' to toggle this behavior or just change the steering operations depending on vehicle speed. I'm leaning towards the former.

The same problem exists with the stability. I need the rover to be fairly stable at higher speeds, but less so a lower speeds. If its too stable all around, rollovers while negotiating a steep slope or obstacle would be fewer than realistically possible.

irrisor: Looking forward to a completion of your new physics api. Visualisation of physics representation, and an easier method for setting CoG are two very exciting features. :smiley:

mojomonk said:

looks great, but DAMN it's hard. If this is the case, Land Rovers are DEATH TRAPS! :)

Not the case at all  XD
In attempting to make it more realistic at slow speeds, things end up terribly at high speeds.

mojomonk said: