Running IDE from command line

Hello,

I used netbeans to compile the IDE and the SDK from scratch. I can run the IDE from netbeans because it’s the default starting executable, but where is the actual compiled Jar file stored? I want to be able to run it from a console window… java -jar …

There is no jar. Run the zip target to build the application.

Hi Normen,

Zip target? I’m actually new to java, the engine and it’s structures. Where would I find it? I’m a C++ developer for 3D graphics.

I checked out the Trunk folders and built everything that was setup up by default. The IDE runs in Netbeans after its built, but i have no idea where from. Where would I find the zip, and does it run the same as a Jar?

right-click the ANT build file of the base freeform project and select the target “zip”. Again, there is an application thats being built, you don’t need to run anything by calling java.exe

Ok, I see what you are saying.
That compiles it again though…right? —it started the build over…

Since it’s already built before and ran, I should be able to find it on the hard drive and just run it through command prompt, right?

Even if its zipped, or just the Jars or Exes. Where would those compiled files be?

@DieSlower said: Ok, I see what you are saying. That compiles it again though...right? ---it started the build over...

Since it’s already built before and ran, I should be able to find it on the hard drive and just run it through command prompt, right?

Even if its zipped, or just the Jars or Exes. Where would those compiled files be?

The parts of the application are in the build directory but it won’t help you much. You either build the application (zip target) or you run it from the IDE / build script directly (build/run targets). What would the point of your endeavor be?