Saving terraingrid tiles

Hi, I’ve recently tried out the TerrainGrid, and really like it. I’m currently working on an in-game terrain editor, which seems to work quite good.

Problem: If I move the camera away from the edited part, the tile gets unloaded and is lost.

Is there a way to automatically save tiles that are unloaded to the hard drive and reload these tiles whenever the camera gets in range again?

I guess what I’m trying to do needs to happen inside an object implementing “TerrainGridListener”, but I’m not shure what to write in there.

TerrainGridListener alerts you when a tile is loaded and unloaded. Just implement it in the object which has the data, and on unload save your tile.

Thanks, only it is rather the saving part that is the problem for me, because I’ve never worked with saving in JME before.

theres some commented out code to generate the j3o files for the tiles test in one of the other terrain grid tests.

Ok, my program just saved some files in the heightmap folder. How do I now configure my TerrainGrid to use these files when loading tiles?

The code I used to create the files:

[java]public class TerrainGridSaver implements TerrainGridListener {

@Override

public void gridMoved(Vector3f newCenter) {

// TODO Auto-generated method stub

}

@Override

public void tileAttached(Vector3f cell, TerrainQuad quad) {

}

@Override

public void tileDetached(Vector3f cell, TerrainQuad quad) {

BinaryExporter exporter = BinaryExporter.getInstance();

File file = new File("assets/courses/test/heightmap/terrain_" + Math.round(cell.x) + "" + Math.round(cell.y) + "" + Math.round(cell.z) + ".j3o");

try {

exporter.save(quad, file);

} catch (IOException ex) {

Logger.getLogger("").log(Level.SEVERE, "Failed to save terrain tile!", ex);

}

}

}

[/java]

Yay snippets!

[snippet id=“19”]

Edit: oops, you seem to have answered your own question before I could :slight_smile:

Yes, it seems to be working like it should! Many thanks once again.