Scene Graph Browser?

Hello everyone.  I've been messing around in jME for a few months now, and I have started to create some more complex scene graphs.  Problem is - keeping this all in my head is a bit daunting, especially when I don't work on the project for a bit …

So I started writing a Scene Graph Browser to help visualize things.  Of course, I started doing this before thinking about asking if someone else has done so already.  So … has anyone?

Thanks,

-Ben

That might work, but I haven't yet found a way to grep the heap for objects of a certain class.  Of course, I could make it so that my shiny root node keeps a static registry of all known 'root' nodes.  However, this means than anyone using one of the built-in jme game objects (StandardGame, SimpleGame, etc) will not be able to use the browser - all of these game objects provide their own root node in one way or the other.

Ideally, I would like everyone to be able to add browser functionality with nearly no effort.  Replacing your root node seems like it would require a bit more effort than simply specifying the name of a class object that will let me get ahold of a root node statically.

i think there is something around but i don't remember where/what/who :slight_smile:

Heh, sounds about right.  I have searched through the forums and done some googling, but come up empty … so I figured I would query the forum population.

-Ben

http://www.jmonkeyengine.com/jmeforum/index.php?topic=6498.0

You could use that as a starting point!

Hmm … interesting.  I will definitely be using that as a reference.  Unfortunately, I already started building a TreeModel and have a bunch of Test cases against it … so I think I'll keep mine :slight_smile: