Scripting Levels / Maps (with Editors)?

Hello,

I am quite new to jMonkey and I could not find an answer to my question (if there is an answer in the forum, please just show me):

I want to build a Racing Game with jME2. There are specific situations in that game, where for instance specific events are triggered, when the player is in a certain position:

Example: The player's car is at a crossroad with red traffic lights, so he has to wait. Suddenly another car appears from behind with high speed, gets over the crossroad without caring about the taffic lights and drives away.

For that scene I have to script the level. When the player is within a radius of the crossroad, the traffic lights will turn red and after, say, 5 seconds the other car is created behind the player (20 metres away) and  is driving with 120 km/h over the crossroad.

Is there any kind of "Level Editor" with that functionality? Does anyone know how I can do that? If there is no Editor, how can I code that?

Thanks in advance!

Xerxes  :D

In jme i think the abstract class com.jme.scene.Controller is a good candidate to scripting stuff.

For the editor i'm writing, the approach i choosed is this: declare a generic interface for the scrip objects, like this:

package it.tukano.jupiter.script;

public interface Script {

void initialize(Bindings data);

void eval(Bindings data);

void destroy(Bindings data);
}

And let each script define that interface. Bindings is a second interface:

package it.tukano.jupiter.script;

import com.jme.bounding.BoundingVolume;
import com.jme.math.Vector3f;
import com.jme.renderer.Camera;
import com.jme.scene.Spatial;
import java.util.Collection;

public interface Bindings {

Camera getCamera();

Spatial getSpatial(String id);

float getTimePerFrame();

Collection<Spatial> getSpatials(Vector3f from, Vector3f to);

Collection<Spatial> getSpatials(BoundingVolume region);

String createSpatial(Spatial spatial);

void removeSpatial(String id);