SetCenteralForce() for hovercraft-like effect?

Hi everyone,

I am new to Jme3 and I thought I would implement a box that acted similary to a hovercraft. So, every update, I do: setCenteralForce(new Vector3f(0, 100, 0) onto my “vehicle” controller. It seems to be that at first the box jumps up into the air, then gravity(it is set worldwide to -9.8f) takes over and it crashes down. Then, it sort of “hops” up in the air. What I was hoping for is that it would jump up, then go down, then jump up again, ect… I tried to use the physics tick listener rather than the update method, but the physics preTick “space” doesn’t have methods such as applyForce ect… I am not sure why. Also, for some reason the box doesn’t seem to care abiyt where I position it. I set the setLocalTranslation of it to -1000 (when the terrain is at -100) and it was still at the same location. Apologies for the messy code, I tried many things and commented them out. What methods / tequnchies should I be using for a floating-like effect?

Main.java

GameState.java

VehicleControl.java

Many thanks!

You set the physicsLocation on the physics control, not the spatial when you use physics controls because the physics engine controls it’s presence.

If it were me I’d apply an impulse multiplied by time (tpf) which will make it nice and smooth.

Ah, I see. I’m doing a test run right now and it seems to be that preTick method is not being called, I put a println() in there.

I will use physicsLocation to set the location now instead of the spatial.

I have little idea as to why prePhysicsTick is not call, here is my code:

The other method(physicsTick) is not call either

EDIT: For anyone else wondering, you need to add the tick listner with appState.getPhysicsSpace().addTickListener(this);

Is there a way to set it to be a certain distance above the current ground? I did setImpluse(new Vector3f(0, 50, 0), new Vector3f(loc.x, loc.y - 2, loc.z);