Shader programming

Hi,

I am relatively new in jMonkey and started a project a month ago. I started with implementing terrain as I want something special jMonkey does not support yet as far as I know. So I started to search for terrain creation technics. During this I also learned that I can modify vertices via Shaders on the GPU.

Is there another way than materials to use them, like running a shader on all vertices of a specifc mesh, node or even scene? I’d like to have material independent shaders. Or rather I want some shaders to run before the material shaders and be more flexible. Is this possible at all?

And I also wonder if there is a geometry shader support in jMonkey by now. In the docs and tuts it says no but I have found some references in the source for that as if it is at least being worked on.

@xeratos:

as i good know, it is possible, look on filters. (but you will probably need to modify JME common materials and add technique)

BTW: modifying vertices via shader will not affect physics, etc. so it’s bad idea to make terrain creation via it.

and BTW2: there are already terrain creation technics in JME. (but without caves)

And I also wonder if there is a geometry shader support in jMonkey by now

http://hub.jmonkeyengine.org/groups/contribution-depot-jme3/forum/topic/support-for-geometry-and-tesselation-shaders-diff/

shaders should not interfere logic, it should only increase quality of graphic.

Thanks for your fast reply. I will have a closer look on filters and the link looks interesting, too.

Also good to know that physics are not affected … I had kind of feeling for that with my first tests when I recognized that the culling on the node is also not affected. My simple face disappeared a little weired :wink: Makes sense if i only work on vertices haha.

I just found out that Material has a method render(geom, renderer) does it do what it sounds like? applying its shaders to the geom independent from the Material shader set to the Geometry?