Shaders not working correctely

I have a problem with shaders: I’m trying to get a shader to work in jme, but when I create a material from it and apply it to a mesh, the mesh becomes invisible.

This is the scource of my shaders:

Vertex shader:[java]void main(void){

gl_Position = ftransform();

}[/java]

fragment shader:[java]void main(void){

gl_FragColor = vec4(1.0,0.0,0.0, 1.0);

}[/java]

j3md material definition:[java]MaterialDef Material {

MaterialParameters {

Vector4 Color

}

Technique {

VertexShader GLSL100: Shaders/Shader.vert

FragmentShader GLSL100: Shaders/Shader.frag

WorldParameters {

WorldViewProjectionMatrix

}

}

Technique FixedFunc {

}

}[/java]

I tried this in shaderMaker and it worked, but when I try jme, it doesn’t work the way it should work.

ftransform() is sort of “old school” I guess. It may only work in a fixed function style pipeline but I’m not an expert. I know that the JME shaders do it differently and I’ve emulated them when writing my own.

You might take a look at jme’s Unshaded.vert to see how it does its thing. Basically, the position of the vertex comes in as an attribute and then you multiply that by the world view matrix. Something like:

[java]

vec4 pos = vec4(inPosition, 1.0);

gl_Position = g_WorldViewProjectionMatrix * pos;

[/java]

Where:

uniform mat4 g_WorldViewProjectionMatrix;

attribute vec3 inPosition;

yeh it kinda sucks that ftransform(); is used by default when you create the vertex shader though :frowning:

I now have: [java]uniform mat4 g_WorldViewProjectionMatrix;

attribute vec3 inPosition;

void main(void){

vec4 pos = vec4(inPosition, 1.0);

gl_Position = g_WorldViewProjectionMatrix * pos;

}[/java]For the vertex shader, and it still has the same results.

wezrule said:
yeh it kinda sucks that ftransform(); is used by default when you create the vertex shader though :(