Shadow pass and Vertex count

So I was wondering if someone could shed some light on this issue.  Maybe it’s not an issue at all, but just what is supposed to happen…

It seems that my vertices are being (roughly) quadrupled when a shadow pass is used.  Here are two pics showing what I mean.

The shadow objects are low-polys that are culled, as a pose to using the visible higher-poly objects.

The only change I made to the two renderings was to setRenderShadow( false )

I would really like to continue using dynamic shadowing but am feeling like I may have to resort to a flattened geometry approach  :expressionless:

I am no expert, but I think ShadowPass is another render pass, and thus, it needs to process everything in the scene again, and not only that, but create the shadow volumes. Maybe the bad part is the drop in frame rate…  :expressionless:

Actually, the drop in frame rate is even worse than what is shown in the pics.  By just turning shadow rendering off, there is still a wasted pass for each frame due to the passManager update.  SO the real frame-rate is closer to 300fps  :|.  Which is why with such simple shadowing requirements I am just considering flattened geometry, but thats just kinda cheesy…

There is no wasted pass, the update pass does not render the objects to the scene. For this simple application I think just putting a darkened circle primitive under each ball will do.

Yeah, but that severely limits my lighting and shadowing options in the future. :slight_smile:

On a side note, changing the blend type to modulative seems to reduce the amount of vertices added but the shadows lighten instead of darken.

I am still trying to understand what vertices are being added, I thought using the stencil buffer didn't need actual meshes rather its more of an overlay.  Please correct me if I am wrong here.

if all shadows are left in there are approx 27,000 vertices

if I remove the table shadows, there are around 26,000