(Shadow) performance tweaks?

Hey guys,

first of all thank you for this great java engine. In the past years I have learned to love java but I have always thought I have to use c++ for 3D stuff. I am not that experienced with 3D engines although I have played for some time with Ogre3D and Irrlicht.

Now I have seen these great demo-videos of “Gen -  The Room”, that was really nice looking. That gave me the inspiration for a little testing for the engine and I tried something of that kind myself. Just for playing around, I have no intention of writing a game, so no competition :wink:

So first of all, this is what we are talking about:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qlnxcZoBqWQ

If you want to have a look at the code it is uploaded to google code:

http://code.google.com/p/stoerbild/source/browse/

So, now for my problem:

Basically this is an array of ‘Box’. I do a lot of calculating for the positions of the boxes, but this is CPU stuff and for now this is no problem. Actually my problem is the shadowing. I have only two lights, but my frames drop down to something like 10-15fps sometimes when I enable the ShadowPass. I have a Macbook Pro with a 9600GT.

I know, there are a lot of boxes, but I wondered if there are some tips, tweaks to increase performance. I already found some things like SharedMesh, BackFaceCulling, and lockMesh() for all the boxes.

Thank you :slight_smile:

mq

did you try to see if DirectionalShadowMapPass.java performes better ?

Ok, obviously this topic is not that interesting :wink:

So let me restate the question. If I wrote this same "demo" in Ogre3D, would it be faster? If so, what is the problem here? Is JNI to slow? Or is just shadow calculation not that advanced in jME as it is in Ogre?

My impression is that jMe supports realistic additive/modulative shadows and directional shadows. There are other techniques to calculate shadows, aren't there?

regards,

mq