Should we use jmonkey?

hi there.

im not entirely sure if this is the right forum to post in, but i just went ahead :wink:

this semester me and 2 other students are in a course to programm a game.

we have free choice of genre and development plattform.

right now we are looking for a gameengine to use for our game.

the game is going to be a 2.5 plattformer that will rely on physics for quite a bit of its gameplay.

the game needs to be done in about 4-6 months.

so i am asking:

should we use jmonkey3, or is it too buggy/unstable/not feature complete right now?

a kid with a real sword cant beat a swordman with a wooden sword.

it depends on your skill and how familiar you are with it

I’m not a developer of jme, but I can confirm that jme is a real sword, in future it might be a treasure sword (or may be already)

1 Like

i get your meaning, but having serious bugs affect the development is going to bite you in the ass later on, especially if you are on a tight schedule.

jme game development is great! packed with features and the tutorials here are incomparably clean and easy to follow (except the one i wrote :D). There’s no “serious bugs” that i know of, just make sure to download the nightly version. Normally if there are any bugs found, they are fixed faster than i can wipe my ass with toilet paper.

@wezrule

which one did you write ?

also nightly version is dead for almost 2 months now

I wonder when beta will come out so that I can download nightly again :smiley:

but even with the old nightly (29/08) it still works like charm.

There are actually 2 bugs in my mind now, and I dont know if they are fixed, but I dont really care about them anymore, so they are not serious for me :))

i wrote half the loading screen one yesterday. And if in jmp, you go to tools > plugins > settings > update to nightly, you can get the latest one.

@xieu90 Nightly, you get the latest on every 24 hour cycle.

jmp is actually one of 2 huge bugs I mentioned before :smiley: