Showcase Killer Game

I've been wathing JME development for the last two years and i really like the improvements that have been achieved.

So this is a call to the community for the creation of a free game showing JME's capabilities and driving the development

of more game-oriented features. This is an open call to potential developers, artists, story writers etc., anyone interested can participate. I can provide web hosting, collaboration tools, some models i have purchased and development on my free time.

The target of this effort will be more like a game demo (e.g. an RPG with one level) for start.

Is this just going to be for showcase? I'd like to do something larger than what I can do alone, but not if it is going to be mostly for showcase.

-Gibi }:-@

Sounds like JME needs a Quake or Unreal Clon. Imho they are just "games" to sell the engine.

But I have a better idea. What do you think about a Benchmark? Not a penis-mark clon. I think of something usefull. The Benchmark give points to some categories. Then this file can be read by every program and the graphic options are automatically set to have the best result (in the developers eyes).

One categorie could be "How drops the framerate with antialiasing" or "How fast is shader 2.0". I really dont know what are good categories…

Finally you can enter some options you always like to have. The resolution for your TFT for example. The benchmark will always use these. And every program that read this file can use this options too.

there already was an attempt (or almost an attempt) like the one you just proposed kman:

http://www.jmonkeyengine.com/jmeforum/index.php?topic=3120.0

The showcase killer games never get of the ground… people want to work on their own games, and the things they need for their games (not everyone is building games even).