Simple block world rendering issue

Hi, I am a JME3 and game development newbie, though I am a skilled Java developer.

I am laying the foundations for a blockworld-based game. I am attempting to render a series of blocks in a checkerboard pattern, but I end up with this:

link to image

As I move the fly cam, the four corners stay the same but the rest of the blocks skew themselves continuously. Has anyone seen this before and have ideas what I am doing wrong?

Here is the core of the code that renders the blocks:

for (byte[] blockData : blockMap) {
        BlockTypeResolver.BlockInfo blockInfo = blockTypeResolver.resolve(blockData);
        blockPosHex = HEX_PREFIX + HexadecimalByteParser.bytesToHex(blockData);
        blockBox = new Box(1, 1, 1);
        blockGeo = new Geometry(blockPosHex, blockBox);
        blockGeo.setMaterial(blockMaterialMapper.materialForType(blockInfo.code));

position = new Vector3f();
        position.x = BlockDefinitionUtils.xPos(blockData);
        position.y = BlockDefinitionUtils.yPos(blockData);
        position.z = BlockDefinitionUtils.zPos(blockData);
        blockGeo.setLocalTranslation(position);

app.getRootNode().attachChild(blockGeo);
    }

To briefly describe what’s going on here: Block type and position is encoded in a few bytes. For each block, we look up the material for the block based on block type and set the position before attaching it to the root node.

Block geoms get their material from the blockMaterialMapper which pretty much looks up the Material in a map keyed by block type. Geoms for a type share the same Material instance – not sure if that can cause the issue.

Thanks for any help (give me some trust so i can inline screenshots please!)

Before you go any further. Box worlds are NOT made out of lots of boxes. Search the forum for “voxels” or “block world” or use the “Cubes” plugin which gives you a library that does it properly.

1 Like