[SOLVED] I need something like ”chaseCamera.getLocation/.getPosition()”

hey monkeys,

i’d like to attach a spotLight to my chaseCam:

i already made it point at the player :

[java]spot.setDirection(player.getPhysicsLocation());[/java]

(yeh, thats nothing special :smiley: )

but i cant figure out how to get the Position of the camera itself. I know, that I could get it to work with vector calculations etc. but my brain is in hollyday-mode so i don’t even get it done this way.

maybe somebody already got a method “chaseCamera.getPosition()” written himself and is willing to post it here.

TaiTen

Chase cam is attached to a spatial, so its location is the location of the spatial.

:smiley: what a picture… probably thats why im not an artist:

http://i.imgur.com/HFu2Z.png

alright. so this is what i want to do:

i want a spotLight, which has the Position of my chaseCam (blue dot) and it should point at the spatial (red dot).

why?

when i move my camera arround my character theres always a side, without light(sword/shield/… is simply black) so i want a weak light source to light up the side of my character im “looking” at with the camera.

TaiTen

[java]AmbienLight someLight = new AmbientLight();

// set the light stuff

characterGeometry.addLight(someLight);[/java]

I’m seriously glad you want to help, but this is like:

Me: I want to go to spain.

You: Well in Itally is good weather, too.

i tried your suggestion, but:

http://i.imgur.com/IvHoO.png

only the character itself is lighted, not the attached items :frowning:

TaiTen

well i decided to go to spain but the east coast, so its closer to italy :smiley:

heres my sollution:

thou it should also work fine with spotLight i decided to go with a point light:

[java]pl = new PointLight();

pl.setPosition(new Vector3f(0,10,0));

rootNode.addLight(pl);[/java]

[java]public void simpleUpdate(float tpf){