[Solved] Migrating standard SDK project to Gradle Template

My game started in the SDK a few years ago so it’s using ant instead of gradle. I’ve been wanting to switch this project to Gradle for some time but have been postponing the switch because the project is somewhat large and I expect it won’t go as smoothly as I’d like.

I am planning on using the SDK’s gradle project template, and want to be prepared as best as possible. I have a few questions about using gradle and am also interested in hearing any useful advice - I have some experience creating small libraries using gradle in the past, but this project is much larger than those so I do have some specific concerns.

1. First, I recall that a gradle project requires the Assets to be in a folder titled Resources instead and followed this format in my small gradle based projects. Is this always required, and are there any disadvantages to this? For example. I plan to still use the SDK and my own custom scene editor to edit assets in this folder, will this still be possible?

2. Will the assets take longer to re-compile after I’ve made a small change and attempt to quickly debug the game again? (I recall a thread in the past where a user mentioned long asset re-compile times using gradle with their assets in the resources folder, although I could be remembering incorrectly)

3. Is there any limit to the size of the assets folder with gradle? Currently a bug with ant has been preventing me from building my game because the assets folder is larger than 4gb. Pretty sure this is just a bug that I’ve acquired as a result of fiddling with this ant based project over the past 6 years, but I can’t find anymore info about fixing it so that’s a primary reason I’m switching over to gradle finally.

4. Any other advice or tips for using gradle with a large project are greatly appreciated :slightly_smiling_face:

2 Likes