[Solved] Moving a node to a clicked position

Hi,

How can I move a node to a clicked position?
Something similar to “the sims” like gameplay.
So you click on a spot (on the terrain) and the model will graduatly move to this position.

What would be the best way to accomplish this?
I was thinking:
-catch the click event, to get the X and Z coordinates (the object does not have to move up).
-set the animation to walking
-use the game loop to move the object a bit closer to the clicked position on every iteration.
-if position is reached, stop walking.

I get the general idea, but I’m not sure how I can implement this.
I’m new to game programming so please be gentle…

ps: How do I activate the mouse cursor? I tried:
[java]inputManager.setCursorVisible(true);[/java]
But that does not seem to work.

Thanks in advance!

First things first. You should look in the Tutorials, the Hello Picking one. Actually, you should go for all tutorials, then start coding while reading the intermediate stuff, then the advanced ones.

Obviously yes.
That is what I am doing.

I’m not saying I’ve read all the tutorials, but I’m working on it.
In the meanwhile, I’m creating mini projects that all tackle one problem at a time (baby steps) like the problem I’m having here.

Going over tutorials is nice, but where is the fun in that? I want to learn new things while I am working on my game.
And I learn a ton from every problem I handle.

But sometimes I just need a little push in the right direction.

No, first you read all easy tutorials, then you move doing something while reading the intermediate stuff and the javadocs.

[java]
Vector3f origin = cam.getWorldCoordinates(inputManager.getCursorPosition(), 0.0f);
Vector3f direction = cam.getWorldCoordinates(inputManager.getCursorPosition(), 0.3f);
direction.subtractLocal(origin).normalizeLocal();

Ray ray = new Ray(origin, direction);

CollisionResults results = new CollisionResults();

if (collideableNode.collideWith(ray, results) > 0)[/java]