[SOLVED] OpenCL context for LwjglCanvas is always null

Hello to the great JmonkeyEngine community. I noticed that LwjglCanvas does not create OpenCL context based on the settings (it is always null) and it never even checks the appSettings to create one in the source code.
In the LwjglDisplay class, there is this line:

At line 150:

if (settings.isOpenCLSupport()) {
            initOpenCL();
        }

But in LwjglCanvas, it’s missing:

So I added the three lines of OpenCL above to the line 480 in “createContext(AppSettings settings)” function, inside the try/catch after the “Display.create” call.

My Question: Since I’m an utter beginner in OpenCL, I wanted to know if there was a reason for not putting the OpenCL in LwjglCanvas or it was just a mistake.

I haven’t tested an actual OpenCL code but after the fix, it does make OpenCL context when embeded inside a Java Swing (not null anymore).

Thank you again for the awesome engine.

EDIT: The problem is solved! Look at my reply to understand how the fix worked.

1 Like

@shamanDevel Do you have an answer for Amir?

I could fix the problem. The solution is to add the settings check to the LwjglCanvas class on the createContext function:

if (settings.isOpenCLSupport()) {
      initOpenCL();
}

But the key point is that Canvas starts with a pbuffer instead of a direct Drawable. This means that “createContext” is called more than once. That’s why it takes time for the canvas to appear in the Swing UI (there is also some manual delays too which I don’t know why it exists). When the canvas becomes visible, then the OpenCL context should be made because the OpenCL context will require the OpenGL context ID to communicate with (which is taken from “Display.getDrawable()”). Therefore, the small code has to be added after “Display.create” which means at line 480 in LwjglCanvas in function createContext. If the “initOpenCL()” be called before “Display.create”, then OpenCL won’t be connected to OpenGL.