Some advice for a newbie :)

Hello!

JME was recommend by the nice folk on stackoverflow to make some 3D games in Java, and so far I really like the look of it. However, I am new to games development in general and would like some advice on any materials to help me get started with JME. I have read some books on Java3D, but obviously that is way out of date now (though the theory in the book was interesting). I am wanting to target OpenGL 2 for the lower end of computers, nothing fancy (yet!).

If anyone could recommend any books that would be so helpful, are there any for JME? Do I need a good knowledge of things like OpenGL?

Thank you so much! (The SDK program looks awesome by the way!)

That should get you going.

Basically do every Hello * tutorial, reading carefully. When in doubt, ask on forums. If you do so, you should be fine.

Also, don’t be affraid to ask so-called “noob questions”. If you’re stuck, it’s better to ask noob question and get answer/link to wiki/other thread/etc., than being stuck forever, even if answer is on wiki/in javadoc, but you just can’t find it. I’m being sincere here.

3 Likes

And don’t be afraid to use the search:

1 Like

You don’t need to know OpenGL at all to use JME.

The link Darius posted is the best place to start. Go through the tutorials and try the examples. Then combine the examples into something you want.

There is a JME book coming out, no release date set though (it has been handed to an editor).

Thanks for the answers guys :slight_smile:

Not having to learn OpenGL will be a huge advantage for me currently, though it’s on my ever growing todo list for the future :slight_smile: I’m reading through the tutorials and it all looks awesome and building binaries for windows mac and Linux is an awesome feature!