Some newbies questions (before using JME for TUER)

Hi! I'm not a newbies in game programming (9 years) nor in 3D game programming (3 years) neither in 3D Java game programming (2 years) but I have never used JME. I would like to use it instead of my own engine because I think it is time to end my scientific investigations and experimentations, I don't want to rewrite lots of things already implemented in JME. I have several questions for you all:

• Is JME 2 reliable enough to be used in production phase?
  • Is it still well maintained whereas some original authors have left the project?
  • As far as I know, only one person maintains the JOGL renderer. Can I use it reliably?
  • Is it possible to put a plugin into JME 2 to use only JavaSound and not JOAL?
  • Is it possible to put a plugin into JME 2 to use Java but not JInput for keyboard and mouse handling?
  • Does JME 2 work on low end machines?
  • Does it work where VBO are not supported? (Can it use ARB VBO?)
  • As far as I know, JME doesn't implement the cells-and-portals algorithm. Is the structure of JME 2 flexible enough to add it?
  • Does JME 2 work under OpenJDK? Soylatte? Kaffe? under Solaris?
  • Does JME 2 only rely on quaternions to solve the problem of gimbal lock?
  • Is it possible to precompute a finite count of interpolations rather than doing it in real time when using MD3 models in JME 2?

My main aim is to improve my game and I know that I will have to improve the reliability of the JOGL renderer as I plan to use it. I don't want to suffer from bugs of JInput and JOAL because I'm sure I don't need to use these libraries. Some original authors refused my help 2 years ago. I hope that things have changed. Thank you for reading.
  • Is JME 2 reliable enough to be used in production phase?

Yes.

• Is it still well maintained whereas some original authors have left the project?

There are plenty of people doing patches and such, aside from that it is pretty stable already.