Sort of a Math Question on Physics

I’m doing a top down 2d space fighter game. I made it top down and “2d” (i.e. movement is restricted to the xz plane) to try and keep things simple since this is my first project and I’m not crazy enough to attempt a MMORPG before I’ve even written pong hehe.

Anyway, I’m using the great new Physics Engine done by DP and Per and I’ve run into an implementation problem. When my ship collides with an object it bounces off and spins in all kinds of directions. Prior to swtiching to the new Physics System the ship would not spin and rotations were limited to around the Y axis (so you could not leave the xz plane).

Now however, the ship spins around after collisions and not just around the Y axis. Therefore after colliding the ship might be pointing in the Y or -Y direction which means when I apply a force the ship leaves the xz plane (hopefully that makes sense)

I decided that the spinning is so cool looking that I want to keep it and allow the ship to spin in every direction (after a collision). However, now I need a way to revert back to moving in the xz plane.

My current idea is this … After a collision let the ship do whatever it wants (it always stays in the xz plane right now because it is only colliding into flat surfaces) If any ship movement key is pressed (i.e. WASD) then 1) stop the ships rotation

2) Level the ship back to parallel with the xz plane.

Problem 1

#1 is easy since DP and Per made the Physics System so easy to use. I just setAngularVelocity to 0. #2 has got me stumped. Anyone know how I can rotate the ship back to being parallel with the xz plane but preserve the direction it was facing. More of a math question than anything else.