Sound not working on Android for version 3.3.0-alpha5

Hi @sgold,
I am testing the latest build on android and found a problem where my sound fx and music does not want to play.
I have tested it against version 3.2.4-stable which worked.

I think it is related to some code changes here:

I have zero Android development experience, so I’m not the best person to troubleshoot Android issues.

Assuming this is a build issue, the next step would be to test with current master (or 3.3.0-beta1, whenever that re-appears). There were major changes in the build process between 3.3.0-alpha2 & 3.3.0-alpha5 and also between 3.3.0-alpha5 & current master. If the former changes broke Android sound, perhaps the latter changes will resolve the issue.

(I mention 3.3.0-alpha2 because 3.2.4 was built from the old v3.2 branch, so it’s even further removed from 3.3.0-alpha5 than 3.3.0-alpha2 is. I’m slightly curious whether the issue exists in 3.3.0-alpha2, which pre-dates the commit you cited.)

Thanks @sgold I will give it a try and give you feedback of my findings.

1 Like

So I tried with version 3.3.0-alpha2 and the sound worked again.
It seems that you might be right. Something broke with the android sound between 3.3.0-alpha2 and 3.3.0-alpha5.

1 Like

Then you’re probably right about PR 1171 being involved. Let’s wait and see whether this is fixed in 3.3.0-beta1 or not.

When is the plan to release a full 3.3.0-beta1?

1 Like

Soon. I did it once but the build was screwed up. Since then I’ve barely had time to sleep and I eat while taking a shit (not literally… but not far off either).

I’m off starting Friday so will look into it then.

2 Likes

Thanks @pspeed. I am looking forward to testing the upcoming release.

1 Like

PS: These snowflakes in the background is making me dizzy…

Hehehe.

1 Like

Seems that PR is authored by @Darkchaos . He may know what is going wrong. Seems a bunch of native files has been deleted by that PR ?? :man_shrugging: