Specific issue related to Raspberry Pi

The Raspberry Pi doesn’t support BGR8 image formats. Hence while using Jmonkey, I create images with an Alpha channel and save it as a PNG. This gets rendered correctly both on my Ubuntu machine as well as on Raspberry Pi - If a BGR8 image is used in an app in RaspberryPi - the renderer throws an exception and app quits.

I am a newbie to JMonkey. So please help with this issue.

I am trying to run the HelloCollison sample on the Raspberry Pi. The supplied images are all JPG’s with out Alpha.

So I opened all the images using GIMP and added an Alpha channel. Saved the file as PNG.

Modified the level.mesh.xml as well as main.material to change the file names from JPG to PNG.

When I run the code on the Ubuntu machine with the new PNG - the application works.

When I try to run this application on the RaspberryPi - the application starts up - no errors. But the scene appears in Silhoutte, i.e all the images/textures are Opaque. So all I get is black boxes every where on the scene.

With an earlier example, I had to have the following code to get the textures rendered correctly on the Raspberry Pi.
[java]
wall_mat = new Material(assetManager, “Common/MatDefs/Misc/Unshaded.j3md”);; – with this line I get black box
changed to >>> wall_mat = new Material((MaterialDef) assetManager.loadAsset(new AssetKey(“Common/MatDefs/Misc/Unshaded.j3md”)));
wall_mat.setTexture(“ColorMap”, assetManager.loadTexture(new TextureKey(“Textures/blue.png”, false)));
wall_mat.getAdditionalRenderState().setBlendMode(RenderState.BlendMode.Alpha); <<< with out this line I get black box

[/java]
In the HelloCollision example all Material settings are in the xml file.

How do I edit the xml to set the Alpha blendmode?

what exactly do you write into the additional alpha layer?

However i suspect a driver bug on raspberry, as the ubuntu works.