Speed Question - [CLOSED]

I have a game i’ve been working on for 3 years. It is an old 1980’s game that I’m remaking called “Alternate Reality” and about a year ago I started to think i would like to use an engine instead of keep doing my own engine. I have the game 95% completed in my own engine. Or at least the 1st module. The game had 2 modules released.

The game was released on an 8bit Atari machine, and then was release on a 16bit (Atari, Amiga) and then the 8-bit Dungeon came out (2nd module). So I’ve spent time recreating the game to play like the original and through settings you have options to play a more enhanced version.

When I decided to look at an engine, I ended up liking JME and I did a small test case and it worked out. My game is in a 3d world but basically 2d quads every where. More like Doom, even though this game was before Doom by years.

So I created a TimePilot 2d game, but in a 3D world using Quads for the graphics and it worked out great.

So Now, I started working on converting my game to JME, and I"m about 90% complete converting it. I finally got it up under JME and was blow away.
The Frame rate was 15FPS.

So I then just started a simple test project and all it is a 64x64 grid based map with Quads. Only about 30 different textures and 30 different materials. I use the same material over and over since so many walls are the same texture.

Here is the Debug window showing objects and everything. As you can see it is a very small foot print, but the engine can’t do 60fps (I have a very good laptop, my own engine could handle it).

So I’m thinking I’m doing something wrong, because I have a hard time believing JME would slow down on less than 10k objects, 20k triangles.

So I’m thinking that I did something wrong.