StandardGame woes

Hello again

I've had a miserable day with StandardGame. As a professional java developer I was instantly attracted by the programming elegance of the StandardGame class. And the opportunity to avoid all the unnecesary code of BaseSimpleGame and it's cohorts was too tempting to pass up on.

So, I finally get myself a working app with some terrain and I turn my attention to the water level that I need to put into my scene. Now, the projected water seen in the TestProjectedWater app is beautiful, but I don't want to jump in too deep and have no idea what projected actually means :wink: So, I figure TestSimpleQuadWater has got my name written all over it. It's nice to look at and I think I can get it into my GameState to display in my StandardGame's OpenGL.

Yeah, right !

I had all sorts of problems, but the one I'm currently facing has got me stumped. TestSimpleQuadWater extends SimplePassGame which sets up everything it needs. Looking through the source for SimplePassGame and all it's parent classes I took out everything I thought I needed and put it into my active GameState. I'll confess right now that I have no idea what a pass is, but figured I'd look that up later (what a cowboy!).

Drilling down through the class heirarchy I have found that my issue is in a call to the GLSLShaderObjectsState's isSupported() method. It throws a NullPointer. The null it is complaining about is from the call to GLContext.getCapabilities() which returns null.

I figure that one of the SimplePassGame support classes is doing something behind the scenes that I haven't found, but I can't find it for the life of me.

So, two questions really:

1. What am I missing ?
  2. Am I creating a rod for my own back by trying to use StandardGame ? I'd really like to, but if it's just not what people are doing, then I won't.

Thanks in anticipation guys.

Mak