Starting first game

Hi everybody  :smiley:

I’ve decided to start the making of a full 3d game. So far i have fiddled with directX in delphi getting some nice 2d tools but i have never worked 3d before. I have chosen jMonkey because i’m proficient with java and looks quite capable of handling the game i am thinking of. Righto!!! So the game is a Turn Based Hexagon Tiled Multiplayer World War II Skirmish type. Something along the lines of the old “advanced squad leader” table game. It is going to be much simpler in its ruleset of course but the general feel should be similar.

So beign this my first 3d game i am a little confused on where and how to start (already going through the tuts, kuddos to the authors :wink: ) so i thought that i would lay down terrain first and then start adding units and so on. Then turns and actions (and their resolutions) and finally the network code.

So here is a pic done in photoshop of how terrain would be represented within the maps.

Anyone would be so kind as to share how he would go about implementing this kind of map?  :? Actual type of object in java code? Work pipeline? etc… :stuck_out_tongue: Really lost

thanks to everyone.

–kxl

Well, i wasn’t convinced of going the heightmap way for the terrain and now that i have tried it out i’m still not sure that is the way i wan’t to do it.  I hate the way hexes warp on the altitude changes. :(  But then again, it is a very simple method to implement it and maybe i should explore further to see if i cant get a nicer look to it.  :? :-o Maybe adding trees, houses and roads it won’t bother me as much.

Anyway, here is a pic of what i got so far.

Thankx fpor answering JMEstarter :wink: Any ideas are welcome.

Greets,

–kaspaxl

Looks good so far to me!

Would you mind posting the code used to generate the last screen shot?  Like you, I am also new to jme and 3d programming.

Keep up the good work!