Starting Port of Old Mac Game Avara

I used to play the old MacOS 7/8/9 game Avara from Ambrosia religiously (back in the days of ISDN modems and 14" CRTs and 640x480). I’ve been pondering writing a clone of the game for the last 10 years or so and would like to give it yet another try with jME.

The game was very simple, had very primitive graphics, but was extremely fun. There are very few YouTube videos of the game to give some idea of what it was like:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MoIIhpVXbJc

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jP1Dra-Ums0

It appears that jME could easily handle the graphics, tank-style input and simple bullet-style physics. I'll have to look in to networking later on, but I'm hoping that simple message passing for location will be good enough for a start.

I've created a new Eclipse project and gotten several of the samples running. I'm currently looking at getting an "infinite ground" geometry and figuring out how to best emulate the shading/lighting from the original game.

A couple questions to get the conversation going:
1) How do I switch from the Phong shader to a Flat shader?
2) When I get the physics set up, I'd like to make sure that the ground is infinite. Is there a way to do that without creating a very large geometry to attach to the physics model?

Thanks for your time!

ew mac :stuck_out_tongue:

1 - I don’t know much about shaders, but judging from the video you’d want to use Unshaded.j3md

Well for number 2, i think this may help, i’ve never used terramonkey though so i can’t give more details sorry, but you should just be able to use a flat terrain.

2 - http://hub.jmonkeyengine.org/2011/06/17/infinite-terrains-with-terraingrid-new-features-in-terramonkey/

Looks like I need to figure out how to use a flat shader. It looks like JME2 supported a way to set the shader but I can’t find a similar method in JME3. Any ideas for switching render modes?