Steam Greenlight will be closed and replaced by Steam Direct that will replace community approvation with a fee

Damn… It is recoupable though - meaning they take it from your sales, and not set in concrete, but “as low as $100 to as high as $5000”. They also hinted on verification of actually being an indie dev - meaning they are probably looking at reducing abuse. Like say I made a game that made me $150k or more - and then spat out a second iteration of teh same game. I’m still an indie dev - but now i’m kinda diluting the whole environment with game’s that aren’t that amazing.

I can see their reasoning, I’d like to see how this pans out. There is also the possibility of kickstarter too.

My understanding is that you will have to pay it before being allowed to publish. Probably recoupable means they won’t take their revenue split until you get those moneys back from sales.

Tbh, I prefer greenlight over this as a solo dev. Where the heck am I supposed to get $5000 for EVERY. SINGLE. GAME.? I don’t know why everyone on the internet is like “waah, greenlight sucks”. To me it is pretty good and from what I’ve seen it’s not too hard to get greenlit if you have a game that isn’t just another flappy bird clone or something like that.

Just take itch.io, humblebundle or gog.
The first one doesnt even charge a fee

1 Like

Yeah, but majority of of people use steam, so that’s not exactly a way to go.

I imagine it will work like a deposit. If a game is good then it can probably make enough on another sales outlet or through crowdfunding to generate the fee. Essentially Valve is outsourcing greenlight and in a more democratic way.

Something had to be done, though. Steam is starting to get a reputation for having mostly crap on it.