Struglling with Appstates

Let’s say I have 3 AppStates: Main Menu/ Pause Menu/ Highscore Menu

in Simpleinitapp I switched to Main Menu, and I made buttons in Main Menu, so my question is how to switch from Main Menu to Play Menu or High scores menu once I click on a button?

I am using tonegod gui

You detach your Main Menu AppState and attach your Play Menu AppState…?

and how Can I get the current app state?

There may be many app states running at a given time. There is no “current app state”.

Have you looked at the javadoc for AppStateManager?

Actually I have never used AppstateManager a lot before, but I needed it lately, I have thought of something like that:

first I make a package called Variables.

I make a new class called global variables and I do like:

int CurrentAppState = 1; // which means main menu 

boolean SwitchedToMainMenu = true;

boolean SwitchedToGameMenu = false;

then when I click on a button for example play button:

Variables.globalvariables.CurrentAppState = 2; // which means game Menu

and after that in the update on Main.java:

if(Variables.globalvariables.SwitchedToGameMenu == false && Variables.globalvariables.CurrentAppState == 2) {

Variables.globalvariables.SwitchedToGameMenu = true; 

Variables.globalvariables.SwitchedToMainMenu = false; 

//then after that detach the MainMenu appstate and attach the Game Appstate
}

Will it work like that? I mean would it be buggy or something? or is there a better solution?

P.s: I am planning to do an android game

For a same case, I use a PageManager. It know what is the current page, how to show, to hide page,…

https://github.com/davidB/jme3_ext/blob/master/src/main/java/jme3_ext/PageManager.java#L18

My page are define via enum, and use the following code to switch :

pageManager.goto(Pages.Welcome.ordinal())

A sample project that use it :

is it the only way available?