System.out.println("Hello world, the name is Fisty");

hey there all fellow code monkeys and game devs alike. The names Luke “Fisty” Davenport and I’m here to say hello :). . hmm… redundancy…

Anywho I’m an intermediate Java programmer with python and limited C++ experience as well, and i have a burning passion and desire for making games, designing games, analysing games, etc. etc.

I’m from Australia and i study games and entertainment design full time and I’m my off time i make games :slight_smile: (personal projects that is) and after looking around for about 96324978467389568479023749723.6756345 years for a decent engine that uses java i had me a nerdgasm when i found Jmonkey, and urban galaxy s what REALLY caught my eye

(looking at making an rts with similar control and look and movement sometime), and form then i decided that i was going to commit myself to stick with Jmonkey.

after a few growing pains with learning to use the SDK (still floundering quite a bit to be honest), and reading + running + trying to understand every example i can find I’m slowly patching together what will be my first full 3d game that i hope to make (quite possible solo).

i don’t want to give too much away about the concept, but think terraria. I realised pretty early on that that voxel worlds seem to be being made by every dev and his/her dog these days, so it isn’t about making epic marvels and what not it’s a survival rpg/town builder. but like terraria. in 3d. well that’s enough for you >.< you’ll see more as it comes and i hope to make some great friends as i attempt to become part of this active, amazing community you have building around such a great project.

tl;dr:

derpy newfag game dev makes another minecraft clone.

Welcome to the community fisty. Bear in mind, “voxel worlds” are not as easy to make as it may seem. Simple as cubes may be, they’re not that easy to render efficiently once they’re in the thousands. Best of luck to you though!

1 Like