The Camera

Hi. This is my first time posting here so I hope that I’m in the correct area. I’m trying to set up the camera (Camera not FlyByCamera or CameraNode) so I can track it. The reason I need to track the camera is because I’m trying to build a first person game and I need the camera’s position to place the model there.Every time I call cam.getLocation() and assign it to a vector, I get a null error. I have tried (vector name) = … ; and (vector name) .set( …); I have initialized the Camera and given it the location of 0f, 0f, 10f. Also, I’m trying to set it to look at the origin so I used the code:

Vector3f v = new Vector3f(cam.getLocation()); //This doesn't return null. Maybe something below is causing a null location?
        Vector3f object1 = new Vector3f(0f, 0f, 0f);
        float junk1;
        junk1 = (float) Math.sqrt((v.x * v.x) + (v.y * v.y) + (v.z * v.z));
        float junk2;
        junk2 = (float) Math.sqrt((object1.x * object1.x) + (object1.y * object1.y) + (object1.z * object1.z));
        float norm_u_norm_v = junk1 * junk2; 
    float real_part = norm_u_norm_v + (v.x * object1.x) + (v.y * object1.y) + (v.z * object1.z);

if (real_part < 1.e-6f * norm_u_norm_v)
    {
        Vector3f w;
        real_part = 0.0f;
        boolean w2;
        w2 = Math.abs(v.x) > Math.abs(object1.z);
                if (w2 == true) { 
            w = new Vector3f(-object1.y, object1.x, 0.f);
        }
        if (w2 != true) {
                                w = new Vector3f(0.f, -object1.z, object1.y);
        }
    if (real_part < 1.e-6f * norm_u_norm_v == false) {
        w.cross(object1, v);
    }

Quaternion a = new Quaternion(real_part, w.x, w.y, w.z);
        cam.setRotation(a);

To set the rotation. That formula is from Internet C++ code, I converted. If you guys and girls could check that too, that would be great.

Also, how would I override the Escape key as to not have the game close 24/7?