The jme2 cant load big model?

hi,

im new to jme and its my first time to build models in 3dsmax. And sorry about my oor english.

i built every thing as the scene (about 20 buildings) in 3ds max and exported the whole scene. however i cant import the model in jme2 both as xx.3ds and xx.obj. i think because my file is too big. more than 13,000 KB in obj format and more than 7,000 KB in 3ds.

then i export a single building(around 1,000). the obj importer and max impoter worked this time but the object has no texture. i noticed that when i export it as obj, no texture exported. the 3ds models all overlap together in jme2.

so my questions are: how to export/import big files. should i divide the scene and import each file one by one?

how to export obj with texture. will md5 or collade work better?

Thx in advance

hey there,

you should always use the jme binary format .jme for models because they load faster (by multitudes!) and to convert your models you can use the ModelLoader that is included in the jme(test?) source. Play around with that tool.

secondly, the multiple houses should be devided so that they are meshes on their own so culling works correctly. this can give you a LOT of performance back.

to achieve multiple meshes you can still export it as one model, since .obj is hierarchical too. or you can export the houses one by one and convert and load them or all together, both should work, just do what works best for you  :wink:

thx, but  how to export modles with texture.

it seems dull when i load my .obj into jme2, i want to convert a textured model into .jme

well, my artist uses 3dsmax too and the built in WAVEFRONT .obj exporter seems to work perfectly here, even with textures. The ModelLoader uses the ResourceLocatorTool to locate the textures.

i use 3dsmax 2009, and i found i can export with the colored matirial but not the picture matirial.

for example, the painted wall looks good, bur the brick matirial using a image cant be shown.