They Call Me Schwiggy

:smiley: Hello,

I’m new to the forums and JMonkey in general as today was my first build. At first there were some weird issues with water but a driver update fixed those and now the only problem is LWJGL (the driver update also fixed shaders in Stalker which is awesome!). But really all I can say is that I’m amazed. I think it’s accurate to boast that JME is the best of free Java game engines.

The reason I came across JME is my mentor for Senior Projects (every senior at my highschool does an original project or research paper to graduate) suggested to keep looking for libraries after I was going to use Java3D. I hope to gain a better understanding of programming and design for games as I make an RPG prototype over the next 5 months.

So anyway, I’m 17, I’ve been making decent 2D games with Game Maker for about 4 years and before then I made some sub-par shooters with 3D Game Studio, the Acknex engine by Conitec. Since it’s about Halloween I’ll treat you with an old platformer for Windows  :stuck_out_tongue: Haunton Village. It only took 10 days to make it heh… Anyway, I look forward to developing games with JME, and being a part of this community!

Regards,

PS.Schwiggy is a nickname that I got from swim team. There is no meaning lol

Welcome Sir Schwiggy! (see how that nick's awesomeness just doubled? j/k)

Was your mentor already aware for JME's existence? If not, I hope you'll blow his socks off with your RPG prototype and he'll be recommending JME as his engine of choice from now on :smiley:

Keep us posted on your progress man. I think you'll find this community can be very constructive for smaller development groups in need of impartial input.

Yeah he will be pleasantly surprised.