Threading and StandardGame

OK, I'm new to game design and have never touched threads, so this will probably be an incredibly naive set of questions, but I'll never have the answer if I don't ask. :slight_smile:

Until recently, I thought my audio subsystem was well-designed. I've since learned that this isn't the case, so I've had to switch to a heavier design. The result is that audio processing is a bit slower.

I'm using my own subclass of StandardGame in which I call my custom SoundSystem's update method. From a thread newbie's perspective, I guess this means I'm running my audio update code from within the OpenGL thread. With the new, more accurate audio system, I've noticed a marked drop in performance–from a minimum FPS value of 50-60 to in the 30s at times, particularly after a new sound is added or deleted, which requires creating a new source and buffering the audio.

Here's where my neivety shows. :slight_smile: I've optimized this about as well as I can. The SoundSystem merely adds/removes sounds from the list of those playing, while their positions and orientations are in custom nodes' updateGeometricState() methods which, presumably, are being updated by the GL thread. Should I really be running these subsystems in their own threads? Guessing this would prevent adding/removing of sounds from nearly halving my framerate, but on which level should I do this? Should I spawn a new thread when a new sound is added/removed (the CPU-intensive operations) or just call SoundSystem.update() again and again in its own separate thread?