TIL: Derby can store and serve Classes from Jars !?

Hiya Guys,

Well, it’s been a while since I’ve last been on the forumns, and longer still since I’ve been able to find time to have fun with JME… sigh. Well, life threw an odd ball situation at me, and now I am running a small computer repair store in Guymon.

Whilst working on a web project for a local school, I learned that Derby (an SQL database that automatically comes with Glassfish) can also store Jars… and serve classes from inside of them. I don’t know how I came across the info, it was probably a mis-click whilst looking for other information. Still, I found it, read it, and proceeded to drool.

The link for further reading:
http://db.apache.org/derby/docs/10.6/devguide/cdevdeploy856753.html

So, why did I post this? Well, as a wannabe game dev, I knew right off the bat that this was a great way to serve out new or temporary content straight from a server. One of my dreams is to have a system where users can create their own content and store it on a Server. This system would allow such content to be “streamed” dynamically from the web without having to store it on the user’s computer. Of course, once the “preview” is complete, it would be no problem to actually d/l the JAR in it’s entirety and store it locally if that is what the programmer desires.

So updates, hotfixes, and possibly DRM coordination from a Derby database? Well, that seems pretty cool to me. I learned that, today, and I wanted to toss it out here in the forums as a “heads up.” I have to head back to my web programming (oh, and check out “Primefaces Showcase” as a search term in google) and I hope to become a regular here at the forums once I get some time cleared and get back on the Tonegod GUI Visual Editor that I have planned.

Game On,
Charles Anderson

How would you prevent users from uploading malicious content? Would you run it in some kind of a sandbox?