Tile based game: mesh generation

Hey.

I’m working on a tile based game and I’m using quads as faces for the cube shaped tiles, but I’ve come across a slight issue on performance here, loading times to be precise. I’m currently cloning a dummy cube for all the seperate cubes on the scenegraph which proves to be rather time consuming on startup, I was wondering if there is a better way to use the same mesh but in different coordinates at the same time, without the use of cloning. Being unable to have the same spatial in different nodes at once, I’m pretty much out of ideas, seeing that I’m new to JME.

Any help on the matter would be appreciated.

Box worlds are not made out of boxes, search the forum for “voxels”. If you haven’t done any mesh / 3d programming before you’re in for a tough ride.

haha it’s like 20 topics about it, there should be “Quick Help” about it :roll:

Also, I always feel the need to point this out because it seems counter-intuitive: box worlds are the HARDEST type of game to make, not the easiest.

If batching the geometry into one mesh didn’t already occur to you as a solution right away then this is probably too hard of a place to start when making a 3D game.

I haven’t even mentioned the word “box” in my post a single time!

I said I was using QUADS…

I’ll admit I haven’t looked up on voxels yet properly, but as far as I know, they’re just a single-colored volumetrix pixel, and I’m planning to use textured surfaces, which doesn’t really fit together. I may be wrong though, I will look it up in time. (It is also important for each side of the blocks to have different textures!)

My game concept explicitly requires the usage of blocks (if not for the static geometry) as it is supposed to be a puzzle game. I wasn’t picking blocks just because it seemed easiest!

And I am already merging together static geometry to optimize… also culling the temporarily-hidden faces of blocks.