Tile based game

Hi there!

First of all: JME rocks! Thanks a lot guys - fine piece of software you made there.

I'm quite new to JME. Currently I'm trying to add a tile-system to a RPG I'm working on. There are a few problems though. I tried some approaches but they just don't seem to fit right.

1st Approach: Lots of Boxes

In the beginning I decided to make boxes because they seemed just like the solution. They covered everything including height. I added 500 boxes to the root node and everything seemed fine. But then I added 3000 boxes and the fps broke down drastically. I thought maybe Java wasn't the right thing for 3D games but then I decided to make sure.

2nd Approach: Lots of Quads

I made the same thing just with quads instead of boxes. There was no performance boost though. The fps were still crap. So it wasn't Java's being slow, it had something to do with the Scenegraph or JME. Therefore I decided to throw the idea of many 3D-Objects away, since there would be like 10.000+ tiles in the end.

3rd Approach: Terrain

I played around with the terrain-classes and found many ways to implement a game world. My favourite: terrainpage with imageheightmap -> can be as big as I like even with easy-to-make heights -> sweet! So the problems with the size of the map was somehow solved. But another problem occured… how do I implement the tile system? I came across texture-splatting, proceduraltexturegenerator, texture.setScale,… but nothing seems to be the right thing for my needs.

Do I really have to write a program that adds small jpgs according to some defined array and that spits out a giant image that is the only texture of the terrain?

Is there no better way to make tiles "fetchable"?

Could really need some advice - thank you!

Hey mars, and welcome.