Tried running on JRockit?

Hi guys!

I tried out JMonkey engine ages ago for my submarine simulator, which I eventually never got time to work on. It was fun to play around with though, and the performance of my testshot for JMonkey engine was way ahead of my implementation for Java3D. 

Now, I'm also a developer on the JRockit team (which kinda explains my lack of time), and I just wanted to check if anyone has tried running their apps on JRockit Real Time. This should be an interesting case where JRockit Real Time has the potential to really shine, and where the latency analyzer tools of JRockit Mission Control should be a blessing. Before we were purchased by Oracle, it was only possible to try out this stuff by getting an special eval license, but since the acquisition everything is freely available for development (yay! :slight_smile: ). It would be interesting to hear if someone has tried it out.

Kind regards,

Marcus

I tried out JRockit a really long time ago with jME and if I recall in some circumstances the performance was much better…thinking back I know there was a reason I didn't pursue it further, but I can't remember now what that reason was.

Well, if it was a really long time ago I can think of few good reasons why. :wink: A lot has happened since, and it would be interesting to see if our technology, which is primarily built for low latency server side use, could be applied to what you guys are doing here. I think it really could make a difference.

If there is interest, I'd be happy to do an internet conference thingy with anyone interested. :slight_smile: I'm on vacation for the next two weeks; since this is an extracurricular activity for me, finding a spot during those two weeks would be perfect. You'd have to bear with my Swedish accent though. :wink:

Kind regards,

Marcus