Two questions

Hi Guys,

I am new to jmonkey and i am trying to develop a continuous runner( subway surfer) like game. I want to have 2-3 maps ( like a long horizontal plane with some static objects int it, like trees) My character will run on it.

a) The issue i am facing is that i want to know when my character is at the end of one plane(map) so i will load next one. So it will continue infinite one after one. Also i need to know the co-ords of the second end of map so i can create some dynamic objects like trains so they will come towards the player. Find the pic below for the explanation. So my question is how can i get the co-ords (start and end).

b) I am trying to move the player in another lane by simple keyboard key listener.

ublic void onAction(String binding, boolean value, float tpf) {
if (binding.equals(“Left”)) {
left = value;
} else if (binding.equals(“Right”)) {…

I found that , the key listener will act 100 times in between the key pressed and released. How can i improve it so that char will move left only once when i press left arrow key.

a ) There’s probably a few ways to accomplish this. You could check the bounds of the player, and see if he is in the BoundingBox of the plane (this might or may not work, on a completely flat plane, and there will be other issues if your player can jump higher than it etc). Depending on the geometry of the plane, if its a straight track like that then you can use the extents of the plane, and simply check the world translation of the player, and the world translation of the plane + extents.

b ) In your onAction () method, don’t assign a variable which will be used in the update loop, instead do the action directly in there; then it will only happen once

1 Like

Thanks wesley, i will try that . I want the coming cars objects to start from either current plane start or next plane start thats why i want the start co-ords. Lets say plane have 4 vertices in 2d space

A B

C D