Understanding RenderPass

Yes, it's me again  :smiley:

As I'm sure you can all tell, I'm very new to the jME. I'm thoroughly enjoying learning all the ins and outs of the engine, before I start on any serious project. As I have gathered up sections of other peoples examples, I had to move from SimpleGame to SimplePassGame and place my rootNode into a RenderPass for rendering by the Rendermanager. I find myself using a mixture spatials rendered as part of the rootNode render, and others that are rendered with their own Passes (my terrain for instance). I have now reached a point where I need to tidy everything up. So, here's a few questions:

1. My terrainPage is rendered using a RenderPass that uses a shader. However, I still have the terrainPage attached to the rootNode for reflecting in my water. As I'm rendering the rootNode through a RenderPass and then the terrain is rendered through it's own RenderPass, is it being rendered twice ?

2. My water has a reflect node that says what spatials to reflect. This node currently contains the player model, the terrain and a couple of other models. If the player node has no special Pass, but the others do, can I just add the reflection node to the water, providing the PassManager has rendered the nodes first ?

3. Did 2. make any sense ? :slight_smile:

4. If a node is being rendered through a custom Pass, can the node still be set as a shadow occluder in a ShadowedRenderPass ?

5. My Water class is simply a manager for WaterRenderPass. I add the water Quad spatial to the rootNode and also add the WaterRenderPass to the PassManager. The rootNode is rendered with a RenderPass, so does that mean my water's getting rendered twice ?

6. Is it a likely scenario that in a SimplePassGame, you might not have anything attached to the rootNode ?

I think that's it for now. All getting a bit confusing :slight_smile:

Thanks

Mak