Unga Munga, survival of the smartest

As I am asking for a lot of help here lately, I thought it would be nice to share some stuff I have been working on. This is Unga Munga, survival of the smartest

It is an experiment with neural networks build into a game. The player can train his tribe of little prehistoric people to survive their encounters with other tribes.

I started coding in Javascript and ThreeJS, but I decided I want to make this available as a mobile app, so I switched to Java. I selected JME because of the IDE and engine in one - I am more a creative than a technician and don’ t want to be bothered with compiling and installing a string of dependencies.

Though some stuff is a lot harder in JME than it was in Javascript, I hope the video shows I am mainly having a lot of fun with this engine.

17 Likes

Very nice. Is there also a training UI?

Also, how did you generate that terrain?

There will be an interface that will let you set the selection criteria for the next genegation. There will also be a graph to show a real time brain. Maybe I will let the player mess with it directly.

The terrain is just a hand painted heightmap with a modified terrain shader that does the texture blending based on the slopes and height.

1 Like

I now have created a planet for the little guys to live on. It is a polysphere that consists of evenly distributed points on a sphere. Every point is connected to 6 surrounding points. The terrain generator makes use of this geometry.

I am currently working to perfect the terrain and water shader I wrote.

The shaders will need to support raising and dropping sea levels and temperature variation. They are a bit more tricky because they need to take into account that they are for spherical objects instead of planes.

16 Likes

This looks really cool, by the way. Somehow very distinctive.

2 Likes

The shaders of the little planet are steadily nearing what I had in mind: