Usage of different texturesin different faces and Live texture changing

Hi, I’m quite new at jME, been using Java3D for a while now, but had some good truble with it’s way of rendering things. So, I decided to try out something new, without the need to workaround. :slight_smile: So, I’m looking for some advices.

My basic need is that I got 2d models I want to put as textures on a plane (A “plane” in here would be a box with one of the axis at 0 size, with the back culled). In order to make animations on such planes, I must replace the textures during the gameplay. Already tried swapping different textures in a separated thread, but didn’t worked out. And now I’m quite lost with how to do it.

Thanks to the help, this is now solved, by calling updateRenderState() on the boxes. :slight_smile:

Also, about swing objects, should I just simply add them on the root node, or another object should be created in order to do the on-screen interface? Didn’t tried this yet, just curious.

Edit: Tried TestjMEDesktop and found out what I needed to start. This part is solved.

And finishing, how can I put different textures on each face of, let’s say, a box? Is there a method for, or I must create my own Plane-based object and implement the textures in it?

Thanks in advance,

Diogo.

So, anybody? I was successful building a custom 6-side-independent box, but I'm quite sure it's not the best way around to do it. Also, how to change a texture of an object while it's live? just switching the TextureState of it for the new one won't work… :frowning:

i think your 6 side independent Box is the way to go, there are a few other posts about this topic somewhere in the forum.

Changing the textureState of one side of the box and calling updateRenderstate() should work to change the Texture.

Core-Dump beat me to it…