Using assetManager in another class than SimpleApplication

Hello, i am new to JME and also new to JAVA!

And i have a little problem : like it is said in the title, i am trying to use a material in a custom class, using the assetManager

[java]

Material mat = new Material(assetManager, “Common/MatDefs/Misc/Unshaded.j3md”);

[/java]

But i get “cannot find symbol” about assetManager. I know i have something to import, and i tried to add “import com.jme3.asset.*;” but that’s not enough. I thought that it would be like inside the SimpleApplication class, but it’s not.

Can you explain to me why it doesn’t work(so i can improve my knowledge on both java and JME) and what i have to do to fix it?

Thanks!

2 Likes

You have to add Assetlocators to the assetManager so it can find your stuff

lol Empire you want to make him cry? xD

To answer the question: You don’t have an assetManager field in your class and it does not reference the valid AssetManager object from the SimpleApplication. You can pass a reference e.g. via the constructor of your class.

Don’t ask me for code, I used all the right terms and you should probably try and find out yourself what this means if you don’t understand.

I saw that 3 or 4 months ago, you told someone who had the same problem to add this to the constructor of his class :

[java]

public MyClass(AssetManager manager){

this.assetManager=manager;

}

[/java]

Problem is i am not sure what does that exactly means. I know what is a constructor , and i did what you suggest, but i am still stuck. Why adding this to the constructor, isn’t a constructor used to initialize the properties of an object when it is instantiated from a class ? I don’t see the logic, and that’s why i am not able to fix it!

4 Likes

Exactly, how do you expect to be able to write games?

1 Like