Using DepthOfFieldFilter to only blur certain nodes

Hey all! I’m relatively new to JMonkey and am trying to make a simple effect where when I click on a certain node, everything besides that node is blurred in the background. I’ve gotten to the point where I can click on an object and apply the DepthOfFieldFilter to the scene, but am unsure of how to proceed from here, or if a DepthOfFieldFilter is even what I want to be using.

I have this code flow so far:

• Create spatials, just simple text Box Geometries for now
  • Add those spatials to an ‘interactive’ Node, where things can be clicked via Ray Casting
  • When a spatial is clicked, give it a UserData value of ‘stateFocused = true’
  • Call an AppState I named ‘FocusedAs’ (focused App State)
  • In the AppState, get all nodes with UserData of ‘stateFocused = false’ and remove them from the ‘interactive’ Node, then add them to the ‘non-interactive’ Node, leaving only the one clicked on remaining in the ‘interactive’ Node
  • Create a DepthOfFieldFilter in the ‘FocusedAs’ and add it to the Application class’s FilterPostProcessor

This successfully blurs the entire scene when clicking on a Spatial, and separates the two categories of Spatials into ‘interactive’ Nodes and ‘non-interactive’ Nodes, but I’m unsure of how to apply the blur effect to only the ‘non-interactive’ Nodes. I was reading about render passes, but can’t seem to find any examples of how they work in JMonkey. Any suggestions? Or is there an easy way to only apply a post processing filter to certain nodes?

I’ll post my code below, but it’s written in Kotlin (company standard), so I’m not sure how useful it will be, although Kotlin is very readable! I can convert it to Java if requested.

class MyApp : SimpleApplication(), ActionListener {
    private val iNode = Node(Nodes.INODE.name) //just points to a String enum
    private val niNode = Node(Nodes.NINODE.name) //just points to a String enum